Tag Archives: Autumn Season

SCO’s Russian season

Led by its charismatic Principal Conductor Maxim Emelyanychev, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra brings a Russian flavour to its new concert season, running from September to December and taking in venues across Scotland.

With three programmes conducted by the young Russian, fresh from the orchestra’s acclaimed BBC Proms performance of Mozart’s last symphonies, the concerts include Russian pianist Lukas Geniusas, playing Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto in Emelyanychev’s season-opener, and Russian violinist Dmitry Sinkovsky the soloist in the conductor’s October concert of the music of Leclair, Locatelli, Vivaldi, Poulenc and his own arrangement of Farkas’ Five Ancient Hungarian Dances.

The orchestra’s Russian principal double bass Nikita Naumov is featured soloist for Peter Eotvos’s Aurora in a concert under the baton of Thomas Zehetmair which also includes Mendelssohn and Haydn, and Shostakovich’s Fourteenth Symphony is conducted by Mark Wigglesworth with soloists soprano Elizabeth Atherton and bass Peter Rose.

The season also features concerts conducted by Joseph Swensen, the orchestra’s former principal bassoon Peter Whelan and Sir James MacMillan, whose programme includes the premiere of a new work, Death in a Nutshell, by Jay Capperauld. December’s concerts include the SCO debut of Portuguese conductor Joana Carneiro and Nicola Benedetti playing Mozart.

With concerts in Edinburgh, Glasgow, Perth and St Andrews, the orchestra will offer socially-distanced seating for this autumn season and will ask the audience to wear masks in the auditorium. A parallel programme of online, digital performances has also been announced, featuring percussionist Colin Currie, violinist Benjamin Marquise Gilmore and baritone Benjamin Appl, as well as the Scottish premiere of SCO Associate Composer Anna Clyne’s Stride.

Following on from the orchestra’s residency in Edinburgh’s Wester Hailes, the SCO has also announced a five-year commitment to the Craigmillar area of the capital, beginning at the Craigmillar Festival this weekend.

Full details of the orchestra’s concerts and outreach work are available at sco.org.uk and there is a video presenting the programme to watch on YouTube: https://youtu.be/FkgcIJfVoZ4

Concerts in the spring will be announced later in the year.

SCO Completes Autumn Season

In response to this season’s fast-growing digital audience, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra is to extend its Autumn online series by a further 10 free concerts in the run up to Christmas. 

Music by Sally Beamish, Anna Clyne, Darius Milhaud, Errollyn Wallen, Beethoven and Bacewicz will be among the wide range of repertoire coming via YouTube from four different venues: the Queen’s Hall Edinburgh, Perth Concert Hall, Laidlaw Music Centre St Andrews, and the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.

Nearest to normal are the two orchestral Perth concerts, directed respectively by Finnish violinist Pekka Kuusisto and SCO principal conductor Maxim Emelyanychev, with music by Britten, Schubert and Tchaikovsky, and featuring ex-principal horn Alec Frank-Gemmill and current principal cello Philip Higham as soloists. 

The Queen’s Hall Thursday Chamber Music Series is being extended by four concerts, continuing this popular spotlight on the orchestra’s internal ensembles. It includes a rare performance of Milhaud’s jazz-inspired La Creation du Monde, and ends in December with Beethoven’s extraordinary Grosse Fuge.

Three Friday lunchtime recitals from Laidlaw Music Centre form part of the SCO’s residency at the University of St Andrews, while at the RCS the SCO Winds team up with Conservatoire students in Janacek’s Mladi and a wind-only arrangement of Beethoven’s Symphony No 7.

“Further plans for the remainder of this Season will be announced in December,” said SCO chief executive Gavin Reid. 

All concerts can be viewed via the SCO website. Lunchtime concerts from St Andrews University and the RCS will also be available via their own YouTube and Facebook Channels.

Full information on www.sco.org.uk

Image: Pekka Kuusisto ®Felix Broede